Skip to content

Who pays transfer duty?

The buyer of the property pays transfer duty to SARS.

Transfer duty is a tax on the transfer of property. The buyer pays the conveyancing attorney for the transfer of property, followed by a tax on that transfer.

However, transfer duty only applies for properties worth more than R1 100 000.

The buyer is also exempt from transfer duty if they acquired the property through marriage, divorce, or inheritance.

You can use our Transfer Cost Calculator to determine the transfer fees and transfer duty owned.

Transfer duty and transfer fees are two of the additional expenses a buyer must pay, aside from the cost of the home loan. Get prequalified with ooba Home Loans so you can determine what you can afford on a home loan. This will help you budget for additional costs.

Get prequalified for a home loan today

DIY with our online prequalification tool, or speak to an expert.

Get Prequalified

Ranked #1 in Banking on Hellopeter

Star Rating

Average rating of 4.86 from over 4 550 reviews

Simply The Best

Ooba home loans services are simply the best. My Consultant Bianca Dancer was so hands on and helpful from the get go. She guided me through the entire process and put me at ease being a first time buyer. I highly recommend their services.

Tia J

Star Ratings

Excellent Service

Jay Govender and Maleshini Reddy from OOBA provided outstanding assistance and guidance in securing our home loan. Response times were excellent and they were professional and friendly.

Brice G

Star Ratings

Bond Application

Estelle Vorster was really helpful in securing the best deal for my home loan, she not only negotiated a lower interest rate she went as far as securing 50% discount on the transfer costs.

Butana M

Star Ratings